Piranhas rise to victory

By Matthew 20/10/2017 23:03:07

Winners of the Egerton Classic U9's football tournament

Lymm Piranhas B team, coached by Adam Waite and Jonny Smith, won the Egerton Classic U9's football tournament in thrilling style on Sunday 15th May.

Two years ago at the same tournament the team endured a winless, goalless day as under 7’s. This time, the team, who've been together for 3 years, topped their six team group unbeaten and went into the unknown territory of knock-out matches very much as underdogs.

After overcoming both Appleton Boys and Frodsham JFC in penalty shoot-outs, the final was a closely fought match versus strongly fancied Cherrybrook of Wigan. But when the match finished scoreless, the best of three penalty shoot-out ended 2-0 to the Piranhas.

All the children contributed to the win, whether with creative attacking play, scoring five in ten minutes vs Weaverham in the group stage, resolute defending, six clean sheets in eight games, or ice cool penalty taking (and saving) to progress to the trophy.

After collecting the trophy, the manager Adam Waite said, ''I am very proud of the boys and am extremely pleased with the progress they have all made over the last year.''

Photograph: Front row - left to right-  Nathan Waite, Tom Davenport, Jonathan Caldwell, George Potts, Tom Hardiman. Middle row - left to right- Paddy Smith, Adam Cope, Patick Dempsey, Max Randles, Jude Doherty, Sam Bernard. Back row - left to right- Adam Waite (Manager), Jonny Smith (Coach)